Joseph Cotten

Place of birth:
Petersburg, Virginia, USA:
Joseph Cheshire Cotten (May 15, 1905 – February 6, 1994) was an American actor of stage and film. Cotten achieved prominence on Broadway, starring in the original productions of The Philadelphia Story and Sabrina Fair. He is associated with Orson Welles, leading to appearances in Citizen Kane (1941), The Magnificent Ambersons (1942), Journey into Fear (1943), for which Cotten was also credited with the screenplay, and The Third Man (1949). He was a star in his own right with films such as Shadow of a Doubt (1943), Love Letters (1945), Portrait of Jennie (1948), and The Third Man (1949).


The Survivor (1981)
as Priest
Churchill and the Generals (1981)
as Gen. George C. Marshall
The House Where Death Lives (1981)
as Ivar Langrock
Heaven's Gate (1980)
as The Reverend Doctor
The Hearse (1980)
as Walter Prichard
Guyana: Crime of the Century (1979)
as Richard Gable
Concorde Affaire '79 (1979)
as Milland
L'isola degli uomini pesce (1979)
as Prof. Ernest Marvin
Indagine su un delitto perfetto (1978)
as Sir Arthur Dundee
Caravans (1978)
as Crandall
L'ordre et la sécurité du monde (1978)
as Foster Johnson
Airport '77 (1977)
as Nicholas St. Downs III
Twilight's Last Gleaming (1977)
as Arthur Renfrew - Secretary of State
Un sussurro nel buio (1976)
as The Professor
The Lindbergh Kidnapping Case (1976)
as Dr. Joseph Francis Condon
F for Fake Trailer (1976)
Timber Tramps (1975)
as Greedy sawmill mogul
AFI Tribute to Orson Welles (1975)
as Himself
Vérités et Mensonges (1975)
as Himself
Il giustiziere sfida la città (1975)
as Paternò
A Delicate Balance (1973)
as Harry
Soylent Green (1973)
as William R. Simonson
The Devil's Daughter (1973)
as Judge Weatherby
Lo scopone scientifico (1972)
as George
Gli orrori del castello di Norimberga (1972)
as Baron Otto von Kleist / Alfred Becker
Doomsday Voyage (1972)
as Captain Jason
The Screaming Woman (1972)
as George Tresvant
La figlia di Frankenstein (1971)
as Baron Frankenstein
The Abominable Dr. Phibes (1971)
as Dr. Vesalius
City Beneath the Sea (1971)
as Dr. Ziegler
Do You Take This Stranger? (1971)
as Dr. Robert Carson
Assault on the Wayne (1971)
as Admiral
The Grasshopper (1970)
as Richard Morgan
Tora! Tora! Tora! (1970)
as Henry L. Stimson, U.S. Secretary of War
Ido zero daisakusen (1969)
as Capt. Craig McKenzie / Cmdr. Glenn McKenzie
Comanche blanco (1968)
as Sheriff Logan
Petulia (1968)
as Mr. Danner
Gangsters '70 (1968)
as Destil
Alexander The Great (1968)
as Antigonus
Jack Of Diamonds (1967)
as As
I crudeli (1967)
as Colonel Jonas
Some May Live (1967)
Brighty of the Grand Canyon (1966)
as Jim
The Oscar (1966)
as Kenneth Regan
Gli uomini dal passo pesante (1965)
as Edith Wickett
The Money Trap (1965)
as Dr. Horace Van Tilden
The Great Sioux Massacre (1965)
as Major Marcus A. Reno
Hush... Hush, Sweet Charlotte (1964)
as Dr. Drew Bayliss
The Last Sunset (1961)
as John Breckenridge
The Angel Wore Red (1960)
as Hawthorne
From the Earth to the Moon (1958)
as Victor Barbicane
Touch of Evil (1958)
as Coroner (uncredited)
The Edge of Innocence (1957)
as Robert Rainey
The Halliday Brand (1957)
as Daniel Halliday
The Killer Is Loose (1956)
as Detective Sam Wagner
The Bottom of the Bottle (1956)
as Pat 'P.M.' Martin
Vom Himmel gefallen (1955)
as John Adams
A Blueprint for Murder (1953)
as Whitney 'Cam' Cameron
Egypt by Three (1953)
as Narrator
Niagara (1953)
as George Loomis
The Steel Trap (1952)
as Jim Osborne
Untamed Frontier (1952)
as Kirk Denbow
Othello (1951)
as Senator (uncredited)
The Man with a Cloak (1951)
as Dupin
Peking Express (1951)
as Michael Bachlin
Half Angel (1951)
as John Raymond Jr.
September Affair (1950)
as David Lawrence
Walk Softly, Stranger (1950)
as Chris Hale aka Steve
Two Flags West (1950)
as Col. Clay Tucker
Beyond the Forest (1949)
as Doctor Louis Moline
Under Capricorn (1949)
as Sam Flusky
The Third Man (1949)
as Holly Martins
Portrait of Jennie (1948)
as Eben Adams
The Farmer's Daughter (1947)
as Glenn Morley
Duel in the Sun (1946)
as Jesse McCanles
Love Letters (1945)
as Allen Quinton
I'll Be Seeing You (1944)
as Zachary Morgan
Since You Went Away (1944)
as Lieutenant Tony Willett
Gaslight (1944)
as Brian Cameron
Hers to Hold (1943)
as Bill Morley
Shadow of a Doubt (1943)
as Uncle Charlie Oakley
Journey Into Fear (1943)
as Howard Graham
The Magnificent Ambersons (1942)
as Eugene Morgan
Citizen Kane (1941)
as Jedediah Leland
Lydia (1941)
as Michael Fitzpatrick
Too Much Johnson (1938)
as Augustus Billings
as William Callew
Journey Into Fear
Screenplay © 2020

Powered by: