The Best Years of Our Lives

Three wonderful loves in the best picture of the year!

Categories: Drama, History, Romance
It's the hope that sustains the spirit of every GI: the dream of the day when he will finally return home. For three WWII veterans, the day has arrived. But for each man, the dream is about to become a nightmare. Captain Fred Derry is returning to a loveless marriage; Sergeant Al Stephenson is a stranger to a family that's grown up without him; and young sailor Homer Parrish is tormented by the loss of his hands. Can these three men find the courage to rebuild their world? Or are the best years of their lives a thing of the past?

Status: Released IMDb
Release date: 1946-12-25
Run time: 172 minute / 2:52
Budget: $2,100,000
Revenue: $23,650,000
Director: William Wyler
Writer: Robert E. Sherwood
Production Company : Samuel Goldwyn Productions
Production Country: United States of America


Fredric March
as Al Stephenson
Myrna Loy
as Milly Stephenson
Dana Andrews
as Fred Derry
Harold Russell
as Homer Parrish
Teresa Wright
as Peggy Stephenson
Virginia Mayo
as Marie Derry
Cathy O'Donnell
as Wilma Cameron
Hoagy Carmichael
as Butch Engle
Gladys George
as Hortense Derry
Roman Bohnen
as Pat Derry
Ray Collins
as Mr. Milton
Minna Gombell
as Mrs. Parrish
Walter Baldwin
as Mr. Parrish
Steve Cochran
as Cliff Scully
Dorothy Adams
as Mrs. Cameron
Claire Du Brey
as Mrs. Talburt - Perfume Customer (uncredited)
Pat Flaherty
as Salvage Foreman (uncredited)
William H. O'Brien
as Nightclub Waiter (uncredited)
Bert Stevens
as Man at Airport/Dinner Guest (uncredited)
Don Beddoe
as Mr. Cameron
Marlene Aames
as Luella Parrish
Charles Halton
as Prew
Ray Teal
as Mr. Mollett
Howland Chamberlain
as Thorpe (as Howland Chamberlin)
Dean White
as Novak
Erskine Sanford
as Bullard
Michael Hall
as Rob Stephenson
Victor Cutler
as Woody Merrill
Gregg Toland Director of Photography

Robert E. Sherwood Screenplay

Daniel Mandell Editor

Costume & Make-Up
Irene Sharaff Costume Design

George Jenkins Art Direction

William Wyler Director

Julia Heron Set Decoration

MacKinlay Kantor Novel

Samuel Goldwyn Producer

Hugo Friedhofer Original Music Composer

Perry Ferguson Art Direction

Richard DeWeese Sound Recordist

Bill McLellan Gaffer

 © 2019

Powered by: