The Son of Monte Cristo

Categories: Action, Adventure
In 1865, General Gurko Lanen is dictator of "Lichtenburg" in the Balkans. Rightful ruler Zona hopes to get aid from Napoleon III of France. The visiting Count of Monte Cristo falls for Zona and undertakes to help her, masquerading as a foppish banker and a masked freedom fighter. The rest is rapid-fire intrigue and derring-do.

Status: Released IMDb
Release date: 1940-12-05
Run time: 102 minute / 1:42
Director: Rowland V. Lee
Writer: George Bruce
Production Company : Edward Small Productions
Production Country: United States of America


Louis Hayward
as Edmund Dantes Jr.
Joan Bennett
as Grand Duchess Zona of Lichtenburg
George Sanders
as Gurko Lanen
Florence Bates
as Countess Mathilde Von Braun
Lionel Royce
as Col. Zimmerman
Montagu Love
as Prime Minister Baron Von Neuhoff
Ian Wolfe
as Conrad Stadt
Clayton Moore
as Lt. Fritz Dorner
Ralph Byrd
as William Gluck
Georges Renavent
as Marquis de Chatante
Michael Visaroff
as Prince Paul Pavlov
Rand Brooks
as Hans Mirbach
Theodore von Eltz
as Captain
James Seay
as Lt. Stone
Henry Brandon
as Lt. Schultz
Jack Mulhall
as Schmidt
Edward Keane
as Turnkey
Ernie Adams
as Informer
Stanley Andrews
as Turnkey
Maurice Cass
as Max, Tailor
Michael Mark
as Archbishop
Charles Trowbridge
as Priest
Ted Oliver
as Turnkey
Wyndham Standing
as Chamberlain
Lionel Belmore
as Hercules Snyder
Margaret Fealy
as Mrs. Snyder
Charles Waldron
as Kurt Mirbach
George Barrows
as Bit Role
Ted Billings
as Extra in Mirbach's Shop
Stanley Blystone
as Max
Dick Curtis
as Guard
Donald Curtis
as Guard
Franklyn Farnum
as Friend of Von Neuhoff
Dwight Frye
as Pavlov's Secretary
Lawrence Grant
as The Baron
Chuck Hamilton
as Guard
Leyland Hodgson
as Wedding Guard
Jerry Jerome
as Bit Role
George Lollier
as Bit Role
Walter McGrail
as Bit Role
Alberto Morin
as Friend of Von Neuhoff
Edmund Mortimer
as Officer
Dirk Thane
as Bit Role
Victor Zimmerman
as Bit Role
Edward G. Boyle Set Decoration

George Robinson Director of Photography

Rowland V. Lee Director

Rowland V. Lee Producer

George Bruce Screenplay

Lambert Hillyer Second Unit Director

Edward Small Executive Producer

Edward Ward Original Music Composer

Costume & Make-Up
Don L. Cash Makeup Department Head

Arthur Roberts Editor

John DuCasse Schulze Production Design

Val Paul Production Manager

Joseph C. Boyle Assistant Director

Costume & Make-Up
Edward P. Lambert Costume Design

 © 2020

Powered by: