His triumph changed the world forever.

Categories: Drama, History
In the early years of the 20th century, Mohandas K. Gandhi, a British-trained lawyer, forsakes all worldly possessions to take up the cause of Indian independence. Faced with armed resistance from the British government, Gandhi adopts a policy of 'passive resistance', endeavouring to win freedom for his people without resorting to bloodshed.

Status: Released IMDb
Release date: 1982-11-30
Run time: 191 minute / 3:11
Budget: $22,000,000
Revenue: $77,737,889
Director: Richard Attenborough
Writer: John Briley
Production Companies : Goldcrest Films International, Indo-British, International Film Investors, National Film Development Corporation of India
Production Countries: India, United Kingdom


Ben Kingsley
as Mahatma Gandhi
Candice Bergen
as Margaret Bourke-White
Edward Fox
as General Dyer
John Gielgud
as Lord Irwin
Trevor Howard
as Judge Broomfield
Rohini Hattangadi
as Kasturba Gandhi
John Mills
as Lord Chelmsford
Martin Sheen
as Vince Walker
Ian Charleson
as Reverend Charlie Andrews
Roshan Seth
as Pandit Nehru
Om Puri
as Nahari
Saeed Jaffrey
as Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel
Alyque Padamsee
as Mohammad Ali Jinnah
Amrish Puri
as Khan
Geraldine James
as Mirabehn
Daniel Day-Lewis
as Colin
Athol Fugard
as General Jan Christiaan Smuts
Dalip Tahil
as Zia
G√ľnther Maria Halmer
as Dr. Herman Kallenbach
Shreeram Lagoo
as Gopal Krishna Gokhale
Terrence Hardiman
as Ramsay MacDonald
Ian Bannen
as Senior Police Officer
Michael Bryant
as Principal Secretary
John Clements
as Advocate General
Richard Griffiths
as Collins
Nigel Hawthorne
as Kinnoch
Bernard Hepton
as G.O.C.
Michael Hordern
as Sir George Hodge
Richard Vernon
as Sir Edward Gait
Harsh Nayyar
as Nathuran Godse
Vijay Kashyap
as Apte
Supriya Pathak
as Manu
Neena Gupta
as Abha
Shane Rimmer
as Commentator
Peter Harlowe
as Lord Mountbatten
Anang Desai
as J.B. Kripalani
Winston Ntshona
as Porter
Peter Cartwright
as European Passenger
Marius Weyers
as Conductor
Richard Mayes
as Baker
Alok Nath
as Tyeb Mohammed
Ken Hutchison
as Police Sergeant
Norman Chancer
as Reporter
Charu Bala Chokshi
as Ayah
Ray Burdis
as Youth
Daniel Peacock
as Youth
Avis Bunnage
as Colin's Mother
Mohan Agashe
as Tyeb Mohammed's Friend
John Savident
as Manager of the Mine
Michael Godley
as Clergyman
Christopher Good
as Young Englishman
David Markham
as Older Englishman
Moti Makan
as Traveller on Train Roof
Jalal Agha
as Traveller on Train Roof
Rupert Frazer
as Cavalry Troop Leader
K.K. Raina
as Nehru's Friend
Dominic Guard
as Subaltern
Bernard Hill
as Sergeant Putnam
Nana Palsikar
as Villager
Graham Seed
as Wicket-Keeper
Gerald Sim
as Magistrate
Colin Farrell
as Clerk
Sanjeev Puri
as Young Man
James Cossins
as Brigadier
Habib Tanvir
as Indian Barrister
Barry John
as Police Superintendant
Brian Oulton
as Clerk of Court
James Snell
as Court Reporter
John Boxer
as Court Reporter
Bernard Horsfall
as General Edgar
Richard Leech
as Brigadier
Pankaj Kapur
as Pyarelal
David Sibley
as Subaltern
Stanley Lebor
as Police Officer
Jon Croft
as Colonel
William Hoyland
as Adjutant
John Ratzenberger
as American Lieutenant
Jack McKenzie
as Major at Aga Khan Palace
Vinay Apte
as Hindu Youth in Calcutta Street
Suhas Palshikar
as Hindu Youth in Calcutta Street
Shekhar Chatterjee
as Suhrawardy
as Goonda
Sunil Shende
as Goonda
Derek Lyons
as Radio Reporter at Funeral (uncredited)
Sudhir Dalvi
as Police Commissioner
David Gant
as Daniels
Tom Alter
as Doctor at Aga Khan Palace
Ernest Clark
as Lord Hunter
Fred Wood
as Man in the Crowd (uncredited)
John Quentin
as Batsman
Geoffrey Chater
as Government Advocate
Keith Drinkel
as Major
Susie Figgis Casting

George Fenton Additional Music

Robert W. Laing Production Design
Robert W. Laing Supervising Art Director

Richard Attenborough Director

Richard Attenborough Producer

Costume & Make-Up
John Mollo Costume Design

Stuart Craig Production Design

John Bloom Editor

Michael Seirton Set Decoration

John Briley Screenplay

Ronnie Taylor Director of Photography
Billy Williams Director of Photography

Michael Stanley-Evans Executive Producer

Norman Dorme Art Direction

Ravi Shankar Original Music Composer

Costume & Make-Up
Vera Mitchell Hairstylist

Gerry Humphreys ADR & Dubbing
Simon Kaye Sound Recordist

Terence A. Clegg Producer

Visual Effects
Gary Shaw Visual Effects

Costume & Make-Up
Bhanu Athaiya Costume Design

Suresh Jindal Associate Producer

Ram Yedekar Art Direction

Chris Ridsdale Assistant Editor

Steve Lanning Assistant Director

Brian Hathaway Transportation Captain
Gerry Crampton Stunt Coordinator

Costume & Make-Up
Connie Reeve Makeup Artist

Visual Effects
David H. Watkins Special Effects Supervisor

 © 2020

Powered by: