Blackwell's Island

Categories: Comedy, Crime, Drama
A reporter gets himself sent to prison to expose a mobster.

Status: Released IMDb
Release date: 1939-01-24
Run time: 71 minute / 1:11
Director: William C. McGann
Writer: Crane Wilbur
Production Company : Warner Bros. Pictures
Production Country: United States of America



John Garfield
as Tim Haydon
Rosemary Lane
as Mary 'Sunny' Walsh
Dick Purcell
as Terry Walsh
Victor Jory
as Thomas MacNair
Stanley Fields
as 'Bull' Bransom
Morgan Conway
as Steve Cardigan
Granville Bates
as Stuart Granger
Anthony Averill
as Brower
Peggy Shannon
as Pearl Murray
Charley Foy
as Benny Farmer
Norman Willis
as Mike Garth
Joe Cunningham
as Ben Rawden
Wade Boteler
as Captain Pedersen
William B. Davidson
as Hempel
Leon Ames
as Ballinger (uncredited)
Raymond Bailey
as Cash Sutton (uncredited)
Sam Bernard
as Prison Vendor (uncredited)
James Blaine
as Police Officer (uncredited)
Frank Bruno
as Bookie (uncredited)
Eddy Chandler
as Headkeeper Jameson (uncredited)
Lane Chandler
as Policeman at Ballinger's (uncredited)
Harry Cody
as Guard (uncredited)
Steve Darrell
as Convict (uncredited)
Joe De Stefani
as First Dockworker (uncredited)
John Dilson
as Finlay (uncredited)
Demetris Emanuel
as Second Dockworker (uncredited)
Eddie Foster
as Convict (uncredited)
Chester Gan
as Wong (uncredited)
Jack Gardner
as Convict (uncredited)
William Gould
as Deputy Warden Michaels (uncredited)
George Guhl
as Police Officer (uncredited)
John Harron
as Deputy District Attorney (uncredited)
Harry Harvey
as Convict (uncredited)
Lew Harvey
as Guard (uncredited)
Al Herman
as Prison Waiter (uncredited)
Robert Homans
as Dock Guard (uncredited)
Sam Jackson
as Sam (uncredited)
Vera Lewis
as Hospital Desk Nurse (uncredited)
Fred Malatesta
as Third Dockworker (uncredited)
Herman Marks
as Convict (uncredited)
Brenda Marshall
as Reynolds' Secretary (uncredited)
Walter Miller
as Guard (uncredited)
Will Morgan
as MacNair's Secretary (uncredited)
Jimmy O'Gatty
as Rico Ide (uncredited)
George Offerman, Jr.
as Messenger with an Orchid (uncredited)
Henry Otho
as Guard (uncredited)
Bob Perry
as Convict (uncredited)
Herbert Rawlinson
as Dave Reynolds (uncredited)
Dick Rich
as Guard (uncredited)
Charles Seel
as Surgeon (uncredited)
Gus Sonnenberg
as Guard (uncredited)
James Spottswood
as Garner (uncredited)
Milburn Stone
as Max (uncredited)
Charles Sullivan
as Convict (uncredited)
Monte Vandergrift
as Guard at Prison Dock (uncredited)
Billy Wayne
as Second Prison Vendor (uncredited)
Dick Wessel
as Convict (uncredited)
Lottie Williams
as Mrs. Walsh (uncredited)
Jack Wise
as Prison Barber (uncredited)
Walter Young
as Judge Gately (uncredited)
Sidney Hickox Director of Photography

Lee Katz Story
Crane Wilbur Screenplay
Crane Wilbur Story

William C. McGann Director

Doug Gould Editor

 © 2021

Powered by: