The Man Who Invented Christmas

How Charles Dickens wrote “A Christmas Carol” and created a tradition.

Categories: Drama, History, Comedy, Family
In 1843, despite the fact that Dickens is a successful writer, the failure of his latest book puts his career at a crossroads, until the moment when, struggling with inspiration and confronting reality with his childhood memories, a new character is born in the depths of his troubled mind; an old, lonely, embittered man, so vivid, so human, that a whole world grows around him, a story so inspiring that changed the meaning of Christmas forever.

Status: Released IMDb
Release date: 2017-10-12
Run time: 105 minute / 1:45
Revenue: $8,096,007
Director: Bharat Nalluri
Production Companies : Rhombus Media, Mazur / Kaplan Company, The Mob Film Company, Parallel Films
Production Countries: Ireland, Canada



Dan Stevens
as Charles Dickens
Christopher Plummer
as Scrooge
Jonathan Pryce
as Mr. John Dickens
Justin Edwards
as John Forster / Ghost of Christmas Present
Morfydd Clark
as Kate Dickens
Donald Sumpter
as Haddock / Ghost of Marley
Miles Jupp
as Thackeray
Simon Callow
as Leech
Miriam Margolyes
as Mrs. Fisk
Ian McNeice
as Chapman
Bill Paterson
as Mr. Grimsby
John Henshaw
as Butcher / Mr. Fezziwig
Annette Badland
as Butcher's Wife / Mrs. Fezziwig
Katie McGuinness
as Fanny Dickens / Mrs. Cratchit
Pearse Kearney
as Henry Jr. / Tiny Tim
Ger Ryan
as Mrs. Dickens
Marcus Lamb
as Rev. Henry Burnett / Mr. Cratchit
Cosimo Fusco
as Signor Mazzini
Anna Murphy
as Tara / Ghost of Christmas Past
Ely Solan
as Young Charles
Mark Schrier
as Presenter
Patrick Joseph Byrnes
as Stage Manager
Jasper Hughes Cotter
as Walter Dickens
James Heffernan
as Charley Dickens
Aleah Lennon
as Mamie Dickens
Ella Mai Delaney
as Katey Dickens
Donna Marie Sludds
as Maid
David McSavage
as Hall
Pat Mooney
as Garrick Club Waiter
Anna Murphy
as Tara / Ghost of Christmas Past
Sam McGillicuddy
as Young Charles' Brother
Rory O'Neill
as Young Charles' Brother
Nancy Quinney
as Young Charles' Sister
as Young Charles' Sister
Glynis Casson
as Society Lady
Amelia Crowley
as Mrs. Grimsby
Derek Hannay
as Toothless Man
Derek O'Sullivan
as Grave Digger
John Delaney
as Grave Digger
Gerard Lee
as Cleric
Stephen Ball
as Clerk
Martin Philips
as Pawn Broker
Kevin McCormack
as Bailiff
Aideen Wylde
as Charlotte Wigmore
Marcus Lamb
as Rev. Henry Burnett / Bob Cratchit
Paul Kealyn
as Warren's Foreman
Richard Coombs
as Punch / Judy
Michael Judd
as Pie Man
Eddie Jackson
as Scam Artist
Anthony Morris
as Newsagent
Linda Gough
as Charwoman
Jack Gunning
as Cratchit Child
Christina Martina
as Cratchit Child
Ava May Taylor
as Cratchit Child
Adam Dolan
as Warren's Factory Boy
Cameron Simpson
as Poll
Degnan Geraghty
as Christmas Tree Vendor
John Colleary
as Constable Copperfield
Sean Duggan
as Mr. Grub
as Grip the Raven
James Daniel Wilson
as Grip
as Mittens the Cat
Valeria Bandino
as Tart
Desmond Bird
as Lover
Séamus Hanly
as Audience Member
Franco Moscon
as Nobleman
Mark Quigley
as Middle Class
Roisin Whelan
as Maid
Charles Dickens Writer

Niv Fichman Producer

Mychael Danna Original Music Composer

Paki Smith Production Design

Bharat Nalluri Director

Jamie Pearson Editor

Paula Mazur Executive Producer
Vadim Jean Producer
Ian Sharples Producer

Christopher Green Special Effects Technician

Alan Moloney Executive Producer
Susan Mullen Producer
Susan Coyne Executive Producer

Susan Coyne Writer

Robert Mickelson Producer

Ben Smithard Director of Photography

Les Standiford Book

Amy Hubbard Casting

John Browne Art Department Assistant

Keith Potter Executive Producer
Wayne Marc Godfrey Executive Producer
Robert Jones Executive Producer

Nigel Pollock Art Direction

Joe Condren Stunt Coordinator

Tim Morris Director of Operations

Stephen O'Connell Editor

Costume & Make-Up
Leonie Prendergast Costume Design
Lorraine Glynn Hair Designer

Patrick O'Donoghue Line Producer

Costume & Make-Up
Sonia Dolan Makeup Designer

Laurie May Executive Producer
Lisa Wilson Executive Producer
Kevin Krikst Associate Producer
Fraser Ash Associate Producer

Julie Ochipinti Set Decoration

Guillaume Beauron Boom Operator

Visual Effects
Philip Edward Alexy Visual Effects

Colm Bassett Construction Manager

David Caporale Assistant Sound Editor

Johanna Hogan Executive Producer
Mitchell Kaplan Executive Producer

Jenna Dalla Riva Foley Editor
Daniel Crowley Sound Mixer

Costume & Make-Up
Grace Helen Bailey Daily Makeup & Hair

Andrew Karpen Executive Producer
David Leiwant Executive Producer

Costume & Make-Up
Aine Bane Daily Makeup & Hair

Declan Brophy Trainee Production Coordinator
Miriam Ferguson Trainee Production Coordinator

Visual Effects
Steven Templeton Special Effects Supervisor

Frankie Waite Floor Runner

 © 2021

Powered by: