The Opposite Sex

There's one thing on their minds- MEN!

Categories: Comedy, Music, Romance
Former radio singer Kay learns from her gossipy friends that her husband, Steve, has had an affair with chorus girl Crystal. Devastated, Kay tries to ignore the information, but when Crystal performs one of her musical numbers at a charity benefit, she breaks down and goes to Reno to file for divorce. However, when she hears that gold-digging Crystal is making Steve unhappy, Kay resolves to get her husband back. The Opposite Sex is a remake of the 1939 comedy The Women.

Status: Released IMDb
Release date: 1956-11-15
Run time: 117 minute / 1:57
Revenue: $2,760,000
Director: David Miller
Writers: Michael Kanin, Fay Kanin.
Production Company : Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer
Production Country: United States of America



June Allyson
as Kay Ashley Hilliard
Joan Collins
as Crystal Allen
Dolores Gray
as Sylvia Fowler
Ann Sheridan
as Amanda Penrose
Ann Miller
as Gloria Dahl
Leslie Nielsen
as Steve Hilliard
Jeff Richards
as Buck Winston
Agnes Moorehead
as Countess Lavaliere
Charlotte Greenwood
as Lucy
Joan Blondell
as Edith Potter
Sam Levene
as Mike Pearl
Bill Goodwin
as Howard Fowler
Alice Pearce
as Olga
Barbara Jo Allen
as Dolly DeHaven
Sandy Descher
as Debbie Hilliard
Carolyn Jones
as Pat
Jerry Antes
as Leading Man Dancer
Alan Marshal
as Ted
Jonathan Hole
as Phelps Potter
Harry James
as Harry James
Art Mooney
as Art Mooney
Dick Shawn
as Dick Shawn
Jim Backus
as Psychiatrist
Franklyn Farnum
as '21' Patron
Dean Jones
as Assistant Stage Manager
Juanita Moore
as Powder Room Attendant
Maidie Norman
as Violet (uncredited)
Luana Lee
as Telephone Girl
Don Anderson
as '21' Patron
Jean Andren
as Gossip
Jan Arvan
as Headwaiter
Frank Baker
as Club Patron
Alex Ball
as Club Patron
Foy David Blanton
as Bass Player
Lela Bliss
as Wealthy Matron
Gail Bonney
as Gossip
Marvin Bryan
as Television Director
Ahna Capri
as Child
Robert Carson
as Backstage Well-Wisher
Barrie Chase
as Specialty Dancer
George Cisar
as Orchestra Leader
Joe Corey
as Army Officer
Oliver Cross
as '21' Patron
Gabriel Curtiz
as Maitre D'
Jack Daly
as Drunken Husband on Street
Jeanne Dante
as Minor Role
Sayre Dearing
as Backstage Photographer
Jack Deery
as Anniversary Party Waiter
Dudley Dickerson
as Pullman Porter
Don Dillaway
as Bill, Box Office Clerk
Darlene Engle
as Chorine
Kay English
as Aristocratic Woman
Estelle Etterre
as Ticket Buyer
James Farrar
as Ticket Buyer
Elizabeth Flournoy
as Departing Woman
Bess Flowers
as Anniversary Party Guest
Joel Fluellen
as Club Car Bartender
George Ford
as '21' Patron
Dolores Fuller
as Minor Role
Sue George
as Debutante (uncredited)
Richard Grant
as Television Stage Manager
Jo Ann Greer
as Kay (Singing Voice)
Stuart Hall
as '21' Patron
Harry Harvey Jr.
as Delivery Boy
Ed Haskett
as '21' Patron
Mary Alan Hokanson
as Minor Role
Bob Hopkins
as Drunk in '21' (uncredited)
Art Howard
as Club Patron
Helen Jay
as Minor Role
Michael Jeffers
as Stagehand
Joe Karnes
as Pianist
Fred Kelsey
as Club Patron
Jess Kirkpatrick
as Al, Party Coordinator
Jeanne Lafayette
as '21' Patron
Janet Lake
as Miss Wilson
Mike Lally
as '21' Patron
Charlotte Lawrence
as Manicurist
King Lockwood
as '21' Patron
Leota Lorraine
as Party Guest
Celia Lovsky
as Lutsi
Wilbur Mack
as '21' Patron
Vivian Marshall
as Showgirl
Harry Tom McKenna
as Hughie
Joe McTurk
as Popsicle Vendor at Park
Eve McVeagh
as Departing Woman
Harold Miller
as Anniversary Party Guest
Hans Moebus
as Anniversary Party Guest
Ann Morriss
as Sydney's Receptionist
Sol Murgi
as Waiter
Forbes Murray
as Backstage Guest at Benefit
Karine Nordman
as Helene
Monty O'Grady
as Anniversary Party Guest
Leslie Parrish
as Leg Model
Murray Pollack
as Anniversary Party Guest
Lillian Powell
as Audience Member
Fred Rapport
as Club Patron
Waclaw Rekwart
as Waiter
Peggy Remington
as '21' Patron
Mitchell Rhein
as Passerby on Sidewalk
Vernon Rich
as Kay's Lawyer
Gordon Richards
as Hilliards' Butler
Edwin Rochelle
as Passerby
Jeffrey Sayre
as Man Leaving Phone Booth
Frank J. Scannell
as Backstage Man
Scott Seaton
as Club Patron
Bernard Sell
as Club Patron
Maxine Semon
as Gossip
Doris Simons
as Departing Woman
Bert Stevens
as '21' Patron
Hal Taggart
as Store Clerk Stampeded By Women
Wayne Taylor
as Counter Boy
Sid Tomack
as Nightclub Waiter
Dee Turnell
as Showgirl
Bunny Waters
as Amazon
Marc Wilder
as Dancer
Allen Wood
as Onlooker at Buck's Spurs
Wilson Wood
as Stage Manager
Trude Wyler
as Minor Role
Bess Flowers
as Party Guest
Wesley C. Miller Recording Supervision

Costume & Make-Up
Helen Rose Costume Design

Henry Grace Set Decoration

Costume & Make-Up
Sydney Guilaroff Hairstylist

Cedric Gibbons Art Direction
Edwin B. Willis Set Decoration

Warren Newcombe Special Effects

George Stoll Original Music Composer
George Stoll Music Supervisor

John McSweeney Jr. Editor

Costume & Make-Up
William Tuttle Makeup Artist

A. Arnold Gillespie Special Effects

David Miller Director

Clare Boothe Luce Theatre Play

Joe Pasternak Producer

Michael Kanin Screenplay

Charles K. Hagedon Editorial Consultant

Robert J. Bronner Director of Photography

Daniel B. Cathcart Art Direction

Sammy Cahn Lyricist
Fay Kanin Screenplay

Robert Sidney Stage Director
George Rhein Assistant Director

Albert Sendrey Orchestrator
Robert Van Eps Original Music Composer
Robert Van Eps Orchestrator
Kendrick Kinney Sound Editor
John Lipow Sound Editor
Irving Aaronson Music Coordinator

 © 2022

Powered by: