Black Legion

They Murdered at Midnight!

Categories: Crime, Drama
When a hard-working machinist loses a promotion to a Polish-born worker, he is seduced into joining the secretive Black Legion, which intimidates foreigners through violence.

Status: Released IMDb
Release date: 1937-01-30
Run time: 83 minute / 1:23
Budget: $235,000
Director: Archie Mayo
Writers: Abem Finkel, William Wister Haines.
Production Company : Warner Bros. Pictures
Production Country: United States of America


Humphrey Bogart
as Frank Taylor
Dick Foran
as Ed Jackson
Erin O'Brien-Moore
as Ruth Taylor
Ann Sheridan
as Betty Grogan
Helen Flint
as Pearl Davis
Joe Sawyer
as Cliff Moore
Clifford Soubier
as Mike Grogan
Alonzo Price
as Alf Hargrave
Paul Harvey
as Billings
Dickie Jones
as Buddy Taylor
Samuel S. Hinds
as Judge
Addison Richards
as Prosecuting Attorney
Eddie Acuff
as Metcalf
Dorothy Vaughan
as Mrs. Grogan
John Litel
as Tommy Smith
Henry Brandon
as Joe Dombrowski
Charles Halton
as Osgood
Pat C. Flick
as Nick Strumpas
Francis Sayles
as Charlie
Paul Stanton
as Barham
Harry Hayden
as Jones
Egon Brecher
as Dombrowski
Robert Barrat
as Brown (uncredited)
John Berkes
as Convicted Black Legion Member (uncredited)
Ted Bliss
as Radio Announcer (uncredited)
John Butler
as Jenkins - Auto Salesman (uncredited)
Eddy Chandler
as Motorcycle Cop (uncredited)
Noble Chissell
as Legion Member (uncredited)
Larry Emmons
as Man in Drugstore (uncredited)
Robert Haines
as Man Leaving Theatre (uncredited)
John Hiestand
as First Radio Announcer Breaking Story (uncredited)
Robert Homans
as Motorcycle Cop (uncredited)
Michael Jeffers
as Worker (uncredited)
Dick Johnstone
as Legion Member (uncredited)
Milton Kibbee
as Reporter (uncredited)
Charles Frederick Lindsley
as March of Time Announcer (uncredited)
Wilfred Lucas
as Bailiff (uncredited)
Fred MacKaye
as Third Radio Announcer Breaking Story (uncredited)
Carlyle Moore Jr.
as Reporter (uncredited)
Dennis Moore
as Reporter at Jail (uncredited)
Jack Mower
as Court Clerk (uncredited)
Frank Nelson
as Radio Announcer (uncredited)
Lee Phelps
as Guard at Jail (uncredited)
Sam Rice
as Extra on Bus (uncredited)
Frank Sully
as Truck Driver's Helper (uncredited)
Emmett Vogan
as News Commentator (uncredited)
Max Wagner
as Truck Driver in Diner (uncredited)
Billy Wayne
as Jim - Diner Counterman (uncredited)
Jack L. Warner Executive Producer

Owen Marks Editor

George Barnes Director of Photography

Hal B. Wallis Executive Producer

C.A. Riggs Sound Recordist

W. Franke Harling Music

Robert M. Haas Art Direction

Howard Jackson Music
Bernhard Kaun Original Music Composer

Costume & Make-Up
Milo Anderson Costume Design

Fred Jackman Jr. Special Effects

Robert Lord Producer

Robert Lord Story

Archie Mayo Director

Abem Finkel Screenplay
William Wister Haines Screenplay

Hans F. Koenekamp Special Effects

Jack Sullivan Assistant Director

Frank Mattison Unit Manager © 2020

Powered by: