Castle on the Hudson

The big John Garfield thrill !

Categories: Crime, Drama
A hardened crook behind bars comes up against a reform-minded warden.

Status: Released IMDb
Release date: 1940-02-17
Run time: 77 minute / 1:17
Director: Anatole Litvak
Writers: Seton I. Miller, Courtney Terrett, Brown Holmes.
Production Company : Warner Bros. Pictures
Production Country: United States of America



John Garfield
as Tommy Gordon
Ann Sheridan
as Kay Manners
Pat O’Brien
as Warden Walter Long
Burgess Meredith
as Steve Rockford
Henry O'Neill
as District Attorney
Jerome Cowan
as Ed Crowley
Guinn Williams
as Mike Cagle
John Litel
as Prison Chaplain
Margot Stevenson
as Ann Rockford
Willard Robertson
as Ragan
Edward Pawley
as Black Jack
Billy Wayne
as Pete
Nedda Harrigan
as Mrs. Long
Wade Boteler
as Principal Keeper
Barbara Pepper
as Goldie
Robert Strange
as Joe Morris
Eddie Acuff
as Bill - Prisoner Dispensing Clothing (uncredited)
Ernie Adams
as Kelner - the Fink (uncredited)
Nat Carr
as Reporter (uncredited)
Eddy Chandler
as Intake Guard (uncredited)
Loia Cheaney
as Lady in Room 611 (uncredited)
Cliff Clark
as Prison Guard Sergeant (uncredited)
Richard Clayton
as Elevator Operator (uncredited)
Michael Conroy
as Newsboy (uncredited)
Clyde Courtright
as Train Conductor (uncredited)
Alan Davis
as Guard (uncredited)
Joe Downing
as Gangster in Car (uncredited)
Ralph Dunn
as Court Clerk Reading Verdict (uncredited)
Jay Eaton
as Dance Partner of 'Sweetheart' in Nightclub (uncredited)
Frank Faylen
as Guard Who is Slugged (uncredited)
Pat Flaherty
as Stretcher Attendant (uncredited)
James Flavin
as Death Row Guard (uncredited)
Brenda Fowler
as Nurse (uncredited)
Edward Gargan
as Death Row Guard (uncredited)
Sol Gorss
as Silent Gangster in Car (uncredited)
Oscar 'Dutch' Hendrian
as First Prisoner (uncredited)
Howard Hickman
as The Judge (uncredited)
Max Hoffman Jr.
as Warden's Clerk (uncredited)
Stuart Holmes
as Jury Foreman (uncredited)
Robert Homans
as Clyde Burton - the Detective Escort (uncredited)
William Hopper
as Reporter (uncredited)
Paul Hurst
as Guard (uncredited)
Thomas E. Jackson
as Seated Reporter on Train (uncredited)
John Lester Johnson
as Black Prisoner (uncredited)
Eddie Kane
as Nightclub Manager (uncredited)
Willie Keeler
as Joe - Clerk in Dr. Ames' Office (uncredited)
John Kelly
as Rockpile Convict (uncredited)
Mike Lally
as Machine Shop Guard (uncredited)
Max Marx
as Prisoner (uncredited)
Frank Mayo
as Visitor Room Guard (uncredited)
Frank McCarroll
as Prison Guard (uncredited)
Walter Miller
as Frank - a Night Guard (uncredited)
Grant Mitchell
as Dr. Ames - the Psychologist (uncredited)
Howard M. Mitchell
as Policeman (uncredited)
Frank Moran
as Cell Block Guard (uncredited)
Adrian Morris
as Prisoner (uncredited)
Philip Morris
as Joe - Detective with Ragan in New York (uncredited)
Jack Mower
as Night Guard Shooting Tear Gas (uncredited)
Pat O'Malley
as Guard (uncredited)
Lee Phelps
as Visitor Room Guard (uncredited)
Frank Puglia
as Tony - Prisoner in Death Row (uncredited)
Bob Reeves
as (uncredited)
Richard James
as Guard (uncredited)
John J. Richardson
as Prisoner (uncredited)
John Ridgely
as Intake Guard (uncredited)
Cliff Saum
as Prison Intake Clerk (uncredited)
Charles Sherlock
as Night Guard Shooting Tear Gas (uncredited)
George Sorel
as Nightclub Waiter (uncredited)
Robert R. Stephenson
as Sailor (uncredited)
Julie Stevens
as Telephone Operator (uncredited)
Harry Strang
as Vistor's Room Guard (uncredited)
Charles Sullivan
as Double Talking Convict (uncredited)
Frank Sully
as Second Prisoner (uncredited)
William Telark
as Reporter (uncredited)
Emmett Vogan
as Standing Reporter on Train (uncredited)
Dick Wessel
as Convict Messenger (uncredited)
Ernest Whitman
as Alexander '8 Ball' Hamilton (uncredited)
Tom Wilson
as Convict in Yard (uncredited)
Arthur Edeson Director of Photography

Jack L. Warner Executive In Charge Of Production

Adolph Deutsch Original Music Composer

Hal B. Wallis Executive Producer

Costume & Make-Up
Perc Westmore Makeup Artist

Robert B. Lee Sound

Costume & Make-Up
Howard Shoup Costume Design

Thomas Richards Editor

Leo F. Forbstein Music Director
Ray Heindorf Music Arranger

Anatole Litvak Director

Byron Haskin Special Effects

Seton I. Miller Screenplay

Samuel Bischoff Associate Producer

Lewis E. Lawes Novel
Courtney Terrett Screenplay
Brown Holmes Screenplay

Edwin B. DuPar Special Effects

John Hughes Art Direction

 © 2021

Powered by: