The Racket

The Racket boldly begins where the Senate crime committee left off!

Categories: Drama, Action, Thriller, Crime
Mobster Nick Scanlon has managed to buy several of the local government and law-enforcement officials. However, he can't seem to touch the incorruptible police captain Tom McQuigg, who refuses all attempts at bribery. Prosecuting attorney, Welch, and a police detective, Turck, are crooked and make McQuigg's job as an honest officer nearly impossible.

Status: Released IMDb
Release date: 1951-10-25
Run time: 88 minute / 1:28
Director: John Cromwell
Writers: W.R. Burnett, William Wister Haines.
Production Company : RKO Radio Pictures
Production Country: United States of America



Robert Mitchum
as Captain Thomas McQuigg
Lizabeth Scott
as Irene Hayes
Robert Ryan
as Nick Scanlon
William Talman
as Officer Bob Johnson
Ray Collins
as Dist. Atty. Mortimer X. Welsh
Joyce Mackenzie
as Mary McQuigg
Robert Hutton
as Dave Ames ('City Press' cub reporter)
Virginia Huston
as Lucy Johnson
William Conrad
as Det. Sgt. Turk
Walter Sande
as Precinct Sgt. Jim Delaney
Les Tremayne
as Harry Craig (Crime Commission chief investigator)
Don Porter
as R.G. Connolly (ward boss)
Walter Baldwin
as Booking Sgt. Sullivan
Brett King
as Joe Scanlon
Richard Karlan
as Breeze Enright
Tito Vuolo
as Tony, Nick's Barber
Eric Alden
as Sergeant (uncredited)
Gregg Barton
as Rookie Cop (uncredited)
Don Beddoe
as Mitchell (uncredited)
Robert Bice
as Police Dispatcher (uncredited)
Matthew Boulton
as Simpson (uncredited)
Barry Brooks
as Cameron (uncredited)
Howland Chamberlain
as Roy Higgins (uncredited)
John Daheim
as Mannick (uncredited)
Don Dillaway
as Harris (uncredited)
Art Dupuis
as Police Car Driver (uncredited)
Jane Easton
as Operator (uncredited)
Pat Flaherty
as Car 43 Policeman (uncredited)
William Forrest
as Head of Crime Commission (uncredited)
Jack Gargan
as Lewis (uncredited)
Dick Gordon
as Pedestrian (uncredited)
Bret Hamilton
as Reporter (uncredited)
Jayne Hazard
as Girl (uncredited)
Howard Joslin
as Sgt. Werker (uncredited)
Hazel Keener
as Secretary (uncredited)
Mike Lally
as Sergeant (uncredited)
Harry Lauter
as Officer Mosley (uncredited)
Ronald Lee
as Elevator Boy (uncredited)
Herbert Lytton
Frank Marlowe
Thomas Martin
Allen Mathews
Harriet Matthews
Philo McCullough
John McGuire
Ralph Montgomery
Al Murphy
William J. O'Brien
Eddie Parker
Ralph Peters
Howard Petrie
Joey Ray
Walter Reed
Richard Reeves
Stephen Roberts
Jack Shea
Miles Shepard
Charles Sherlock
George Sherwood
Milburn Stone
Duke Taylor
Herb Vigran
Max Wagner
Bud Wolfe
Sally Yarnell
Albert S. D'Agostino Art Direction

Costume & Make-Up
Mel Berns Makeup Artist

Paul Sawtell Original Music Composer

Darrell Silvera Set Decoration

Clem Portman Sound

Costume & Make-Up
Larry Germain Hairstylist

Jack Okey Art Direction

Costume & Make-Up
Michael Woulfe Costume Design

John Cromwell Director

William Stevens Set Decoration

Edmund Grainger Producer

W.R. Burnett Screenplay
William Wister Haines Screenplay
Bartlett Cormack Theatre Play

George E. Diskant Director of Photography

Frank McWhorter Sound

Sherman Todd Editor

James E. Casey Assistant Director

Cliff P. Broughton Production Supervisor
Arthur Siteman Unit Production Manager

 © 2021

Powered by: