The Fountainhead

No Man Takes What's Mine!

Categories: Drama, Romance
An uncompromising, visionary architect struggles to maintain his integrity and individualism despite personal, professional and economic pressures to conform to popular standards.

Status: Released IMDb
Release date: 1949-06-25
Run time: 114 minute / 1:54
Director: King Vidor
Writer: Ayn Rand
Production Company : Warner Bros. Pictures
Production Country: United States of America



Gary Cooper
as Howard Roark
Patricia Neal
as Dominique Francon
Raymond Massey
as Gail Wynand
Kent Smith
as Peter Keating
Robert Douglas
as Elsworth Toohey
Henry Hull
as Henry Cameron
Ray Collins
as Roger Enright
Moroni Olsen
as Chairman
Jerome Cowan
as Alvah Scarret
Bob Alden
as Newsboy (uncredited)
John Alvin
as Young Intellectual (uncredited)
Morris Ankrum
as Prosecutor (uncredited)
Lois Austin
as Female Party Guest (uncredited)
Griff Barnett
as Judge (uncredited)
Monte Blue
as Gas Station Executive (uncredited)
Gail Bonney
as Woman (uncredited)
Ralph Brooks
as Courtroom Spectator (uncredited)
Glen Cavender
as Pedestrian Onlooker (uncredited)
Dorothy Christy
as Society Woman (uncredited)
Tris Coffin
as Toohey's Secretary (uncredited)
Tom Coleman
as Court Clerk (uncredited)
G. Pat Collins
as Jury Foreman (uncredited)
James Conaty
as Party Guest (uncredited)
Bill Dagwell
as Banner Shipping Clerk (uncredited)
Ann Doran
as Wynand's Secretary (uncredited)
Lester Dorr
as Minor Role (uncredited)
John Doucette
as Gus Webb (uncredited)
Jay Eaton
as Party Guest (uncredited)
Estelle Etterre
as Woman at Enright party (uncredited)
Charles Evans
as Banner Board Member (uncredited)
Raoul Freeman
as Juror (uncredited)
Roy Gordon
as Vice-President (uncredited)
William Haade
as Worker (uncredited)
Creighton Hale
as Court Clerk (uncredited)
Jonathan Hale
as Guy Francon (uncredited)
Thurston Hall
as Businessman at Party (uncredited)
Sam Harris
as Board Member / Courtroom Spectator (uncredited)
Paul Harvey
as Opera Businessman (uncredited)
Henry Hebert
as Juror (uncredited)
Russell Hicks
as Banner Board Member (uncredited)
Bert Howard
as Board Member (uncredited)
Selmer Jackson
as Cortlandt Official (uncredited)
Fred Kelsey
as Old Watchman (uncredited)
Douglas Kennedy
as Reporter (uncredited)
Raymond Largay
as Director (uncredited)
Philo McCullough
as Bailiff (uncredited)
Harold Miller
as Party Guest (uncredited)
Boyd 'Red' Morgan
as Jury Member (uncredited)
Jack Mower
as Construction Foreman (uncredited)
Paul Newlan
as Policeman (uncredited)
Albert Petit
as Board Member (uncredited)
Lee Phelps
as Juror (uncredited)
Bob Reeves
as Juror (uncredited)
Almira Sessions
as Dominique's Housekeeper at Quarry (uncredited)
George Sherwood
as Policeman (uncredited)
Paul Stanton
as Dean Who Expels Roark (uncredited)
Larry Steers
as Party Guest (uncredited)
Ruthelma Stevens
as Roark's Secretary (uncredited)
Charles Trowbridge
as Director (uncredited)
Tito Vuolo
as Pasquale Orsini (uncredited)
Geraldine Wall
as Woman (uncredited)
Harlan Warde
as Young Man (uncredited)
Pierre Watkin
as Cortlandt Official (uncredited)
Leo White
as Pedestrian Onlooker (uncredited)
Josephine Whittell
as Hostess (uncredited)
Frank Wilcox
as Gordon Prescott (uncredited)
Isabel Withers
as Secretary (uncredited)
Harry Woods
as Quarry Superintendent (uncredited)
Robert Burks Director of Photography

David Weisbart Editor

Max Steiner Original Music Composer

Henry Blanke Producer

King Vidor Director

Ayn Rand Screenplay
Ayn Rand Novel

Costume & Make-Up
John Wallace Makeup Artist

 © 2020

Powered by: