One Rainy Afternoon

Category: Comedy
Suave French actor Philippe Martin provokes a scandal when, in a darkened theater, he mistakes young Monique for his mistress, Yvonne, and tries to kiss her. Charged with assault, the quick-thinking Philippe claims it's French tradition to do as he did, and is let go. To his surprise, Philippe learns that Monique has paid his fine. As the tabloids exploit the situation, Monique dates Philippe, until a photo appears of him kissing Yvonne.

Status: Released IMDb
Release date: 1936-05-13
Run time: 80 minute / 1:20
Director: Rowland V. Lee
Writer: Stephen Morehouse Avery
Production Company : Pickford-Lasky
Production Country: United States of America



Francis Lederer
as Philippe Martin
Ida Lupino
as Monique Pelerin
Hugh Herbert
as Toto
Erik Rhodes
as Count Alfredo Donstelli
Roland Young
as Maillot
Countess Liev De Maigret
as Yvonne
Georgia Caine
as Cecile
Phyllis Barry
as Felice
Lucille Ward
as Genevieve
Angie Norton
as Hortense
Emilie Cabanne
as Sidonie
Frances Robinson
as Clara, Leading Lady (Uncredited)
Sidney Bracey
as George, Butler (Uncredited)
Joseph Cawthorn
as Monique's Father
Richard Carle
as Minister of Justice
Eily Malyon
as President of Public Morals Society
Lois January
as Mr. Perelin's Secretary
Harvey Clark
as Jeweler (Uncredited)
John Harmon
as Reporter (Uncredited)
Jack Mulhall
as Ice Rink Announcer (Uncredited)
Ferdinand Munier
as Prosecutor (Uncredited)
Mischa Auer
as Stage Actor
Lionel Belmore
as Stage Doorman (Uncredited)
Murray Kinnell
as Theater Manager
Iris Adrian
as Theater Ticket Seller (Uncredited)
Sidney Miller
as Theater Doorman (Uncredited)
Harry Myers
as Man in Theater (Uncredited)
Russ Powell
as Taxi Driver (Uncredited)
Seger Ellis
as Singer on Screen
Marguerite Warner
as Singer on Screen
James Conaty
as First Nighter (Uncredited)
Harold Miller
as First Nighter (Uncredited)
Donald Meek
as Judge
Eric Mayne
as Judge (Uncredited)
Billy Gilbert
as Court Doorman (Uncredited)
Agostino Borgato
as Court Clerk (Uncredited)
Harry Semels
as Clerk (Uncredited)
Merritt B. Gerstad Director of Photography

Alfred Newman Original Music Composer
Alfred Newman Music Director

Richard Day Art Direction

Hugo Friedhofer Orchestrator

Rowland V. Lee Director

Emeric Pressburger Story

Mary Pickford Producer

J. Peverell Marley Director of Photography

Costume & Make-Up
Omar Kiam Costume Design

Stephen Morehouse Avery Screenplay
René Pujol Story

Edward B. Powell Orchestrator

Jesse L. Lasky Producer

Maurice Hanline Additional Dialogue

Margaret Clancey Editor

Paul Neal Sound Recordist

Charles Woolstenhulme Production Manager

Percy Ikerd Assistant Director

Tom Dowling Assistant Camera

 © 2020

Powered by: