Rulers of the Sea

The struggle of a man to build a steam ship to take him across the Atlantic in spite of all setbacks, and his win against a crack sailing boat in the early 19th century.

Status: Released IMDb
Release date: 1939-11-08
Run time: 96 minute / 1:36
Director: Frank Lloyd
Writers: Richard Collins, Talbot Jennings, Frank Cavett.
Production Company : Paramount
Production Country: United States of America



Douglas Fairbanks Jr.
as David 'Davie' Gillespie
Margaret Lockwood
as Mary Shaw
Will Fyffe
as John Shaw
George Bancroft
as Capt. Oliver
Montagu Love
as Malcolm Grant
Vaughan Glaser
as Junius Smith
David Torrence
as Donald Fenton
Lester Matthews
as Lieut. Roberts
Alec Craig
as Foreman
Barlowe Borland
as Magistrate
Wilson Benge
as Campbell
Harry Allen
as Murdock
Barry Macollum
as Miller
David Cavendish
as First Officer Lewis
David Clyde
as Second Mate Evans
Charles McAvoy
as O'Brien
Alan Ladd
as Colin Farrell
Lawrence Grant
as Mr. Negley
John Power
as Captain of 'Dog Star'
William Haade
as A Stoker
Earl Askam
as Chief Engineer
Guy Bellis
as Importer
Lionel Belmore
as Villager
Frank Benson
as Driver
Wade Boteler
as Mr. Brown
John Burton
as Seaman
Harry Cording
as Seaman
Jane Dewey
as Mrs. Farrell
Mike Driscoll
as Helmsman
David Dunbar
as Boatswain
William Eddritt
as Secretary
Walter Fenner
as Dignitary
Neil Fitzgerald
as Dr. Taylor on Steamship
Allen Fox
as Steward
Douglas Gordon
as Seaman
Mary Gordon
as Mrs. Ogilvie
Roy Gordon
as New York City Mayor
Holmes Herbert
as Member of Naval Company
Russell Hicks
as Mr. Cunard
George Hill
as Constable
Robert Homans
as Constable Dunn
Kenneth Hunter
as Naval Company Member
Olaf Hytten
as Third Secretary
Crauford Kent
as Member of Naval Company
David MacDonald
as Clerk
George MacQuarrie
as Seaman
George Melford
as Landlord
Pat Moran
as MacNaughton
Leonard Mudie
as Mr. Barton
David Newell
as Seaman
Paul Newlan
as Second Stoker
Edgar Norton
as Mr. McKinnon
Broderick O'Farrell
as Official
Lionel Pape
as First Secretary
Napier Raikes
as High Commissioner
Frank Shannon
as Kelsey
Ivan F. Simpson
as Secretary
John Graham Spacey
as Dr. Lardner
Wyndham Standing
as Banker
Hayden Stevenson
as Official
David Thursby
as Murdock
Clare Verdera
as Mrs. Naughton
Pierre Watkin
as Mr. Caldwell
Philip Winter
as Soldier
Hans Dreier Art Direction

Harold Lewis Sound Recordist

Visual Effects
Gordon Jennings Visual Effects

John B. Goodman Art Direction

Archie Stout Director of Photography

A.E. Freudeman Interior Designer

Theodor Sparkuhl Director of Photography

Richard Collins Screenplay
Richard Collins Story

Frank Lloyd Director

Frank Lloyd Producer

Talbot Jennings Screenplay
Talbot Jennings Story

Walter Oberst Sound Recordist

William Tummel Assistant Director

Richard Hageman Original Music Composer

Paul Weatherwax Editor

Frank Cavett Screenplay
Frank Cavett Story

Visual Effects
Farciot Edouart Visual Effects

Herman Hand Orchestrator
Charles Maxwell Orchestrator

Lou Smith Associate Producer

 © 2020

Powered by: