Alan Ladd and twenty girls - trapped by the rapacious Japs!

Categories: Drama, War
Shortly before Pearl Harbor, American opportunist Jones and partner Johnny are in China to sell oil to the invading Japanese army. Cynical about the sufferings of the Chinese, Jones meets compassionate teacher Carolyn Grant while travelling cross-country to Shanghai. Sparks fly between these strong-willed characters, neither budging an inch. But when Jones witnesses a Japanese atrocity, his feelings toward his customers (and Carolyn) begin to change...

Status: Released IMDb
Release date: 1943-04-21
Run time: 79 minute / 1:19
Director: John Farrow
Writer: Frank Butler
Production Company : Paramount
Production Country: United States of America


Alan Ladd
as David Jones
Loretta Young
as Carolyn Grant
William Bendix
as Johnny Sparrow
Philip Ahn
as Lin Cho
Iris Wong
as Kwan Su
Victor Sen Yung
as Lin Wei
Marianne Quon
as Tan Ying
Richard Loo
as Lin Yun
Ching Wah Lee
as Chang Teh
Soo Yong
as Tai Shen
Jessie Tai Sing
as Student
Irene Tso
as 'Donald Duck'
Beal Wong
as Capt. Tao-Yuan-Kai
Bruce Wong
as Aide To Captain Tao
Tala Birell
as Blonde Russian
Barbara Jean Wong
as Nan Ti
Chester Gan
as Japanese General
Doris Chan
as Student
Frances Chan
as Student
Melie Chang
as Chinese Girl
Mae Don
as Student
Benson Fong
as Guerrilla
Paul Fung
as Japanese Soldier
Alex Havier
as Japanese Soldier
Hazel Jay
as Student
Eddie Lee
as Guerrilla
Ethel Lee
as Student
George T. Lee
as Guerrilla
Shirley Lew
as Student
May Yook Louie
as Student
Clarence Lung
as Guerrilla
Grace Lung
as Student
Sione Maldonado
as Student
Julia Mei
as Student
Severino V. Moya
as Guerrilla
Betty Quon
as Student
Edith Quon
as Student
Janet Quon
as Student
Lorlay Quon
as Student
Wilbur Tai Sing
as Guerrilla
Sammee Tong
as Aide to Japanese General
Tom Ung
as Japanese Soldier
Doris Young
as Student
Mary Oh Young
as Student
Costume & Make-Up
Edith Head Costume Design

Ray Moyer Set Decoration
Hans Dreier Art Direction

Leo Tover Director of Photography

Bertram C. Granger Set Decoration

Victor Young Original Music Composer

Eda Warren Editor

John Farrow Director

Robert Usher Art Direction

Frank Butler Screenplay

Richard Blumenthal Producer

Costume & Make-Up
Roland Ray Makeup Artist

Murray Young Grip

Wallace Nogle Sound

Harry Osborne Still Photographer

Norman Lacey Location Manager

Fred True Grip © 2020

Powered by: