Army of Shadows

Betrayal. Loyalty. Collaboration. Resistance.

Categories: War, Drama, Thriller
Betrayed by an informant, Philippe Gerbier finds himself trapped in a torturous Nazi prison camp. Though Gerbier escapes to rejoin the Resistance in occupied Marseilles, France, and exacts his revenge on the informant, he must continue a quiet, seemingly endless battle against the Nazis in an atmosphere of tension, paranoia and distrust.

Status: Released IMDb
Release date: 1969-09-10
Run time: 145 minute / 2:25
Revenue: $741,766
Director: Jean-Pierre Melville
Writer: Jean-Pierre Melville
Production Companies : Fono Roma, Les Films Corona
Production Countries: France, Italy


Lino Ventura
as Philippe Gerbier
Paul Meurisse
as Luc Jardie
Jean-Pierre Cassel
as Jean-François Jardie
Simone Signoret
as Mathilde
Claude Mann
as Claude Ullman, aka «Le Masque»
Paul Crauchet
as Félix Lepercq
Christian Barbier
as Guillaume Vermesch, aka «Le Bison»
Serge Reggiani
as Hairdresser
Alain Dekok
as Legrain, young communist
Alain Mottet
as Camp Commander
Alain Libolt
as Paul Dounat
Jean-Marie Robain
as Baron de La Ferté-Talloires
Albert Michel
as Gendarme
Denis Sadier
as Gestapo prison doctor
Georges Sellier
as Colonel Jarret du Plessis
Marco Perrin
as Octave Bonnafous
Hubert de Lapparent
as Aubert, pharmacist
Colin Mann
as Dispatcher
Anthony Stuart
as Royal Air Force Major
Gérard-Antoine Huart
as Prisoner
Percival Russel
as German soldier
Michel Dacquin
as Condemned
Jeanne Pérez
as Marie
Pierre Vaudier
Jacques Marbeuf
as German officer
Marcel Bernier
as Customs adjutant
Gaston Meunier
as Baggage checker
Nathalie Delon
as Jean-François' friend (uncredited)
Jacques Léonard
as Prisoner in the war camp (uncredited)
Françoise Bonnot Editor

Jean-Pierre Melville Screenplay

Jean-Pierre Melville Director

Joseph Kessel Novel

Théobald Meurisse Production Design
Théobald Meurisse Set Decoration

Pierre Lhomme Director of Photography

Jean Nény Sound Director

Walter Wottitz Director of Photography

Jacques Dorfmann Producer

Éric Demarsan Original Music Composer
Jacques Carrère Sound Director

Costume & Make-Up
Colette Baudot Costume Design

Alex Pront Sound Director

Costume & Make-Up
Maud Begon Makeup Artist

 © 2020

Powered by: